Dark Souls

Dark Souls

Dark Souls is an action role-playing video game developed by FromSoftware and published by Namco Bandai Games for PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, and Microsoft Windows. A spiritual successor to FromSoftware’s Demon’s Souls, it is the second installment of the overall Souls series, and the first installment in the Dark Souls trilogy. Dark Souls began development under the working title of Project Dark. The game was self-published and released in Japan in September 2011, and worldwide by Namco Bandai Games the following month.

In August 2012, the “Prepare to Die” edition of Dark Souls was released for PC, featuring additional content previously unavailable to PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 users. In October 2012, the additional content from the PC version was released as downloadable content for consoles under the title Artorias of the Abyss. Dark Souls takes place in the fictional kingdom of Lordran. Players assume the role of a cursed undead character who begins a pilgrimage out of the Undead Asylum to discover the fate of the Undead.

Dark Souls received critical acclaim upon its release, and is considered by some to be one of the best video games ever made, with critics praising its combat depth, marked but fair difficulty, intricate world design, and deeply rooted lore. In April 2013, FromSoftware announced Dark Souls had sold 2.37 million copies. The PC version was the second most played Games for Windows Live title in 2012 based on unique users. The game spawned two sequels, Dark Souls II, which was released in 2014, and Dark Souls III in 2016.

Learn More
Related Experiences
The Taurus Demon Of Friends | I didn’t save him and he didn’t save me
The Taurus Demon Of Friends
I didn’t save him and he didn’t save me

Dylan and I used to be inseparable. We spent long afternoons outside trying to plot how we’d get back inside where the air conditioning and videogames were.